Canterbury Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships

The Southern Schools Cross Country Champion in Timaru at the end of May, Year 11 student Max Aldridge was again at his dominant best at Ascot Park on Thursday 1st June in the Canterbury Secondary Schools Cross Country Championships. Up against a large and strong junior field, Max added the Canterbury Secondary Schools title, to a host of titles that he has won already this season.

Up on the pace early, Max was content to let Christ’s College’s Otto Church lead the field through the first lap. Max never felt that the pace was strong enough though and quickly seized the initiative early on lap two. While closely attended by Otto and Ashburton College’s Kalym Chambers throughout the second lap, Max upped the cadence inside the final lap, soon troubling his main rivals who struggled to stay in touch. In the end, he was in a class of his own, running away to another comfortable victory.

The Canterbury title was the 5th that Max has won this year over the 3km trip:

  • Canterbury Secondary Schools Athletics 3000m
  • South Island Secondary Schools Athletics 3000m
  • Canterbury Secondary Schools Road Race 3km
  • Southern Schools Cross Country 3km
  • Canterbury Secondary Schools Cross Country 3km


Max heads to Palmerston North with 16 other CBHS athletes to compete in the New Zealand Cross Country Championships. Well done Max on all that you have achieved.

While podium finishes were less than in previous years the depth of the athletics and cross-country programme was evident with all age groups winning medals in teams events. Congratulations to Max Aldridge and the Year 9 team for their gold medal performance.

A full list of placings below :

Percy Haughey – Year 9 – 3rd, Dallas Fox – 8th, Mason McLachlan – 19th, Lewis Cooke – 21st. Four-person team – 1st

Junior – Max Aldridge – 1st, Henry Sevier – 7th, Andre Free – 21st, Oakley Blackburn – 29th, Ashton Kitson – 34th, Lawrence Ou – 49th, Finn Hawkins – 52nd, Lucas Stevens – 53rd. Four-person team – 2nd

Senior – Will McMeeken – 8th, Josh Loose, – 11th, Mark Weir – 13th, Max Clinch – 15th, Zavier Toaolamai-Holden – 32nd. Four-person team – 2nd