CBHS Athletics Team dominate at Canterbury Secondary Schools

CBHS Athletics Team cleans up at Canterbury Secondary Schools

Postponed in March due to Covid the Canterbury Secondary Schools Athletics Championships were held at Nga Puna Wai over three days from 3rd – 5th November.

CBHS has dominated the Canterbury schools athletics scene for the last three years and in 2022 it was no different with 27 Canterbury titles won. Two of these were Canterbury records – Cooper Wightman in the 800m, a record that had stood for 48 years and the 4x100m U15 relay team.

The squad continues to grow under the enthusiastic and watchful eye of Mike Drury, supported at school by some big names in the New Zealand athletics coaching scene – old boy Terry Lomax (NZ high jump champion) is working with the schools relay team, Kim Mickel (Athletics NZ High Performance Coach) who is heading up the throwing programme, assisted by Nick Palmer (NZ’s number three ranked Shot Putter) and Lexi Maples (NZ’s number fourth ranked Hammer Thrower)

Canterbury titles:

Under 14

Finn Hawkins – 100m, Long Jump ; Henry Sevier – 800m; Max Aldridge – 1500, 3000m; Caleb Collins-Polata – Shot Put; Ethan Duke-Norris – 80m Hurdles

Under 15

Hunter Scott – 100m, 200m; Zack Walton – 400m; Cooper Wightman – 800m, 1500m;

Harry Williamson – 80m Hurdles, 300m Hurdles, Long Jump

4×100 Relay – Bill Quigley, Harry Williamson, Zack Walton, Hunter Scott

Under 16

Josh Tonga – 400m, 800m; Rhodes Taylor – Javelin; James Moore – Shot Put, Discus

Under 19 

Beau Brackenridge – 110m Hurdles, 300m Hurdles; Levi Murdoch – Long Jump; Luke Johnston – 2000m Steeplechase

4x100m Relay – Asher Pettengell-Brand, Beau Brackenridge, Sam Cartwright, Finn O’Sullivan

4x400m Relay – Sacha Tahi, Beau Brackenridge, Finn O’Sullivan, Ollie Singleton

A 37-person team now heads to New Plymouth for the New Zealand Secondary Schools Athletics Championships from 9th – 11th December.



Beau Brackenridge

James Moore U16 Shot put Champion

4x100m relay team L to R – Harry Williamson, Bill Quigley, Hunter Scott, Zack Walton

Cooper Wightman and Josh Tonga