Well-being (Hauora)

Meet our Counsellors along with helpful information

Contact us on counselling@cbhs.nz


Justin Makinson – Head of Counselling ext.: 282 Mobile : 021 468 826
M.Couns, BEd, PGDip Tchg. (Sec.) NZAC (provisional member)
Justin has been developing and delivering community-based youth work for more than twenty years. Most recently teaching in alternative Education here in Otautahi. He thrives on building meaningful positive relationships and seeing people empowering themselves to develop their lives and communities. He journeys with people from a strengths perspective that facilitates discovery and exploration, with hope that people will achieve their goals and realise their dreams. When whanau commitments allow, he enjoys mountaineering, rock climbing, mountain biking and sea kayaking.
Aaron Powley – Counsellor ext: 281 Mobile: 021 468 823
B Couns, NZAC (Student Member)
Aaron is the new fulltime counsellor here at Christchurch Boys’ High School. Aaron finished his degree in counselling at the end of last year (2021) after almost a decade of working as a youth worker within some of the schools and communities around Christchurch. I love working with young people and the challenges and opportunities that come with it, i want to help our young people to have opportunities to grow and to become the best versions of themselves they can and if there is a way i can help during that process, then awesome! Counsellors are available for you to see at any time you wish during school hours, regarding any matter. The school very much encourages you to go and speak to them at any time about any concerns or problems that may be on your mind.

Pastoral Deans

Year 9 Dean –  Mrs Christine Welsh

Year 10 Dean –  Mr Patrick Coady

Year 11 Dean –  Ms Katerina Kovani

Year 12 Dean –  Mr Gary McNaughton

Year 13 Dean –  Mr Wayne Waller

Your browser is out of date

Unfortunately some parts of the Christchurch Boys High School website do not work properly on your browser version, please update your browser and try again.